Energy Community Treaty Print

The Treaty Establishing the Energy Community, which was signed in Athens on October 25, 2005, and came into effect on July 1, 2006, provides for the creation of the biggest internal market in the world for electricity and gas, with effective participation of the European Union on one side, and the following eight Contracting Parties: Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo*, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine.

In accordance with their expressions of interest, the following countries participate in the work of the Energy Community bodies: Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Latvia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands, Poland, Romania, Slovakia, Slo­ve­nia, Sweeden and the United Kingdom. These nineteen countries have the status of Participants and directly participate in the work of the Energy Community bodies; in the voting procedure their positions are expressed by votes of the European Commission.

Armenia, Georgia, Norway and Turkey have observer status in the Energy Community bodies.

The main goals of the Energy Community are the creation of a stable and single regulatory framework and market space that ensures reliable energy supply and attracts investments in the electricity and gas sectors. In addition, it assumes the development of alternative sources of gas supply and improvement of the condition of the environment, with the implementation of energy efficiency and the utilization of renewable sources.

By signing the Treaty, the contracting parties from the region are obligated to establish a common electricity and gas market that will operate in accordance with the standards of the EU energy market into which it will integrate. It is to be achieved by gradual transposition of the EU acquis, which means the implementation of the relevant EU directives and regulations pertaining to electricity, gas, environment, renewable energy sources, energy efficiency, oil and statistics.

By unanimous decision of the Ministerial Council on October 24. 2013, The Energy Community Treaty created for a ten-year period has been extended for additional ten years.